Digital Artefact Brainstorm

The first week of uni has already kicked off and my body has been stuck in camping mode from the 4 weeks before hand. This meaning that no words were really making sense let alone the unfamiliar term of a digital artefact.

However I was soon to learn, that this in fact entails the main assessment for BCM114! So I have began trying to wrap my head around what this may involve.

To my understanding, a digital artefact involves curating an online series of media objects that are in relation to a certain topic. It needs to have a clear social utility and doing so, by being useful and meaningful to the audience it is targeted at.

We have been told to work on something that we are passionate about and interested in, treating this project as though it is something we would continue working on in the future.

My brain is wandering in a million different places as this assignment is very broad, however to try narrow down an idea I started brainstorming my interests, skills, experiences and knowledge. Here are some below…

  • Dancing
  • Dance teaching
  • Fitness and exercise
  • Photography
  • Filming
  • Travelling
  • Lifestyle
  • Living away from home
  • Independent Uni Student Living
  • Food and Cooking

From this variety of things, I began to think of potential topics emerging from this combination.

Being a first year uni student I thought for a DA I could try to target other uni students and create 3 daily challenges during the weekdays and one weekend adventure challenge each weekend , all in which I do myself and share on platforms such as Facebook and Instagram to encourage other uni students to live the healthiest lifestyle possible, even when on a budget. The three daily weekday challenges I would like to create are:

  1. A short and convenient fitness/dance related video that can be easily followed along with, in a free accessible space and no longer than five minutes.
  2. A healthy and simple budget meal or snack idea to incorporate into the diet with ingredients, instructions and price included.
  3. An uplifting challenge such as giving someone a compliment or helping them carry their bags.
  4. The weekend challenge to be an adventure that can be done on the weekend or in spare time in the surrounding area with a film that will guide us through the journey.

These 3 challenges will be documented either through video, photos and written text to make it easy to understand and follow.

The whole aim of this project is not only to encourage me to eat and live healthy, but also like minded uni students who find it hard to engage in a healthy lifestyle due to limited knowledge, resources or motivation. This has the potential to create an online community who can motivate myself as well as each other πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think of this potential DA! Feel free to leave some feedback in the comments below!

Georgia πŸ™‚


Leave a comment