Reflecting on the BCM212 Research Project: ‘The Motives Behind Choosing BCM’

At the conclusion of my research project for BCM212, I gained many valuable skills throughout the whole process. As a novice researcher this project gave me the tools to understand the different research methods and what types of data they collect. I learned how to effectively create and implement research planning methods whilst allowing room for unexpected risks that may arise, which was inevitable whilst in the midst of a global pandemic! Although I wouldn’t regard my research topic as overly sensitive, understanding ethical research practices helped me to acknowledge the potential implications my actions may have.

My topic has enlightened me on what motivated my fellow peers to study a Bachelor of Communications and Media in comparison to me. I discovered valuable insights into why people choose some degrees and not others and the impact this choice has on the university experience. It was daunting to be given the responsibility of navigating my own project, however the support from the BCM212 cohort made it all the more worthwhile.

Being able to transform a brief moment of curiosity into a semester long project was something I had never imagined. Reading other students ideas surrounding my topic opened up my mind to many different avenues I could explore. Learning about reflexivity in the research practice made me more conscious of acknowledging my potential biases and critically reflecting on their influence to my research process. I found it fascinating to be able to hear a variety of topics from other BCM212 students and how many interesting topics could emerge from researching one aspect of the student experience.

When writing task three I did come across difficultly consolidating my thoughts. I think it was a combination of my uncertainty on which part of my research I was focusing on, along with the stresses associated with navigating online learning during COVID-19. Although it was difficult, my extensive research gave me a new perspective on the Bachelor of Communications and Media, and what value it is providing me beyond the degree itself. I also learned how to write an opinion piece! Not confidently, but we all start somewhere right?

I found my selected topic was ideal for me as I find the human brain fascinating. Being provided a snapshot into the thoughts of others made me more confident about my degree selection. The stigma around media degrees made me doubt its worth but after my research, the passion within each of the media students at the University of Wollongong highlights exactly why I chose it.


Leave a comment