BCM241: Planning my Approach

Since establishing my media niche of travel vlogging and The Bucket List Family, I need to begin to problematise my approach. Being in the middle of a pandemic has made me curious about how the online field of travel vlogging creation has been impacted, particularly due to the fact that international travel is ceased indefinitely.

Through my research into The Bucket List Family, I will aim to outline the normal methods and practices involved in this media niche and the fans interaction with that, in comparison to the travel vlogging niche currently. This may reflect useful insights into how travel vlogging has remained feasible during travel bans, and how, or why audiences are still engaged in the content.

The audience for my ethnographic research are other travel vloggers, and even potentially sponsors of these vloggers who would usually promote their products and services through a travel vlogger to help market their brand. New experiences I am personally eager to explore during my research is practicing my vlogging skills through different programs and creating engaging content.

In order to begin my research it is important to understand the two key methods of Auto-ethnography and Observation. “Autoethnography is an emerging qualitative research method that allows the author to write in a highly personalised style, drawing on his or her experience to extend understanding about a societal phenomenon” (Wall, 2006, pg.1). I will implement this in by research by reflecting on my experience of being immersed in the online community created by The Bucket List Family and how the content makes me think, feel or act.

Image Source

Observation “is a procedure for generating understanding about the way of life of others” (Dawson, 2002). To observe the community of travel vlogging, I, as the researcher, will need to immerse myself into the community and conduct participant observation to gain knowledge in the field. I able to gain access into the community through the social platforms the vloggers use, and observe not only the content of the bloggers, but also the community these vlogs have created, such as comments and reactions. Due to the limited access to the participants in my research field, personalised data collection processes such as interviews will not be a part of my methods.

Data Collection

It is important when conducting observation that I have a process of data collection in place. My main method of data collection will be through taking field notes on my laptop, so I can keep track of practical details such the dates, times and places the notes were taken. I will also include the observations of my experience and those of others, as well as incorporate photos, diagrams and screenshots into my notes.

Below is a general Research Schedule I will aim to follow in order to complete all necessary participant observation and note taking. Over the following weeks after my presentation pitch, I will begin to immerse myself into The Bucket List Family community to conduct observations that will aid me in the creation and development of my project before my Digital Artefact is finalised.

References

Dawson, C 2002, ‘How to Carry Out Participant Observation, in Practical Research Methods A User Friendly Guide to Mastering Research Techniques and Projects, HowTo Books: Oxford


Leave a comment